Radical Centrism

8 Design Principles for Self-Governance


From Elinor Ostrom via Evonomics.

Eight core design principles:

  1. Clearly defined boundaries
  2.  Proportional equivalence between benefits and costs
  3. Collective choice arrangements
  4. Monitoring
  5. Graduated sanctions
  6. Fast and fair conflict resolution
  7. Local autonomy
  8. Appropriate relations with other tiers of rule-making authority (polycentric governance).

This work was so groundbreaking that Ostrom was awarded the Nobel Prize in economics in 2009.